News Pronto


  • Written by News Company

If you are facing a Baltimore DUI charge, you may be confused, scared, and intimidated by the process. Being booked for DUI is a serious charge, as intoxicated drivers are responsible for a huge number of fatal accidents on the roads each and every year.


There are a number of potential penalties that you may face after you have been arrested for a DUI in Baltimore. Depending on the specifics of your case – such as whether or not you injured someone else, destroyed public property, or even refused a breathalyzer test – the penalties for your DUI may vary.


As a rule, the more intoxicated you were – and the more dangerous your behavior was – the more severe your penalties will be. Here are the most common penalties for DUI in Baltimore.

DWI Vs. DUI In Baltimore


Unlike some other states, Baltimore distinguishes between Driving While Impaired (DWI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DUI).

If your BAC is between 0.04 and 0.08, and you are pulled over, you may be found guilty of DWI. The penalties for this are much less severe than DUI. You may face only a 6-month administrative license suspension, and the required completion of a substance abuse program. You will also get 8 points on your license, out of the 12 points required for license revocation.


If your BAC exceeds 0.08 (0.04 for commercial drivers such as truckers, bus drivers, etc.), you are guilty of a DUI, which carries much more substantial penalties. You will get 12 points on your license, so you could face permanent license revocation by the Maryland DMV.


Potential DUI/DWI Penalties In Baltimore


Here is a partial list of some of the DUI penalties you may face in Baltimore.


1. Jail Time – You could face up to 2 months (DWI) or 1 year (DUI) in prison for your first time offense. Second-time offenders will face 2 years (DUI) or 1 year (DWI), and third-time offenders could spend up to 3 years in jail.


2. Fines And Penalties – You can be fined up to $1,000 for DUI and $500 for DWI on your first offense. Second-time DUI offenders will pay $2,000, while DWI penalties remain at $500. Third-time offenders may have to pay up to $3,000.


3. Ignition Interlock Devices – First-time offenders are not required to install an IID (Ignition Interlock Device) on their car. However, second and third-time DUI and DWI offenders are required to install an ignition interlock device at their own expense, often for up to 5 years.


4. License Suspension – Your license may be suspended for 6 months on your first offense. Second-time offenders may face a year of license revocation. Third-time offenders face 18 months of license suspension.

Your license may also be suspended if you refuse to take a chemical breathalyzer test. On your first offense, it’s suspended for 120 days. 2nd and 3rd time offenders will have their license taken away for 1 year.


5. Alcohol/Substance Abuse Programs – You may be required to attend alcohol and substance abuse programs as part of your conviction or plea bargain, or to reinstate your license in the state of Maryland.


First-time offenders typically face relatively low penalties, if there were no other circumstances contributing to their arrest, such as endangering a minor or injuring another individual. However, repeat offenders face serious jail time and fines, license suspension, and other steep penalties.


Know What To Expect From A DUI Case In Baltimore!


If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI, it’s important to seek qualified legal representation, particularly if they are a first time offender. It may be possible to reduce their penalties, and even reach a plea deal to reduce the severity of the DUI or DWI charge.


For more information, consult a professional Baltimore DUI attorney.